Closest to Lauers

Trophy - Closest to the Lauers.jpg (30191 bytes) Over the years a tradition was recognize, in a good spirited way, the family with the highest (worst) gross score.  From 1984 to 1988, the Lauer family (Dick, Ralph, Geof and Tim) achieved this feat exclusively.

In 1989, they came up with a way to avoid the dubious honour by donating their namesake trophy.  The rule is that it be awarded to the family with the highest gross score - unless that family is the Lauers, in which case it is awarded the family with the second highest score.

Underscoring the spirit of the tournament, which emphasizes fun and friendship over all else, this trophy has been presented ever since.  While not exactly coveted, it is the one that seems to draw the loudest cheers and applause from the group. 

Closest to the Lauers Winners

Yr Host Course Score Family
2022 Black Bear Ridge 440 Preszator ( )
2021 No Tournament (COVID)
2019 The Club at Bond Head 417 Butler (Tom, Jordan, TJ, Quinlan)
2018 Copetown Woods - Copetown 407 Golfi (Rob, Dan, Phil, Jeff)
2017 Whirlpool - Niagara 424 Waite (Bruce, Jeff, James, Talbot)
2016 Rebel Creek - Petersberg ? McBride (Michael, Joseph, Adam, Christopher)
2015 Deer Creek - Ajax 450 Edwards/Ollerenshaw (Gord, Mark, Adam, Russell)
2014 Horseshoe Highlands - Barrie 454 Den Ouden (Eric, Mitchell, Kyle, Caleb)
2013 Black Bear Ridge - Belleville 432 Clugston (Terry, Scott, Brad, Jeff
2012 Battlefield (Legends of Niagara) ? Nishikawa (Richard, Graham, Kevin, Mark)
2011 Tangle Creek - Barrie 405 Nishikawa (Richard, Graham, Kevin, Mark)
2010 Hockley Valley - Orangeville ? Norton (Bruce, Anthony, Cameron, Jeff)
2009 Rebel Creek - Petersburg 427 Moro (Mike, Nathan, Zachary, Nicolas)
2008 Firerock - London 406 Galati (Tony, Marco, Paulo, Daniel)
2007 Tangle Creek - Barrie   McDonald (Graham, Robert, Douglas, James)
2006 Peninsula Lakes - Font Hill   McDonald (Graham, Robert, Douglas, James)
2005 Pinestone Resort - Haliburton   Herbert (Ross, Wally, Dan, Ted)
2004 Caledon Hills   Campbell
2003 Mitchell   Finlayson (Fred, Craig, Scott, Todd)
2002 Hawke Ridge - Orillia   Ondercin/French
2001 Craigowen - Woodstock    
2000 Horseshoe Valley - Barrie    
1999 Cranberry Resort - Collingwood   Cooke
1998 Nottawasaga   Campbell
1997 Craigowan - Woodstock   Campbell
1996 Glen Eagle    
1995 Stratford   Campbell
1994 Midland   Campbell
1993 Bay of Quinte    
1992 Sunningdale   Waite (Bruce, John, Jeff, James)
1991 Glen Cedars   Campbell
1990 Cranberry Village - Collingwood   Lauer
1989 Tyandaga   Campbell

If you can provide information about past events, please contact the website administrator by email with as much detail as possible.